Dirty Laundry and Internet Parties

First off, how exciting! About to be a new mom and looking into cloth diapers, I found out about DiaperShops.com annual Halloween Fluff Fest “Fluff ‘n Treat“, and you know I’ll be participating! Sad that I’ve missed out on the past two years, but hey, I’m here now, right?

To be completely honest, I RSVP’d a couple weeks back and was hoping I wouldn’t forget about it. Thank goodness I didn’t, it seems like its going to be a lot of fun. I haven’t had much experience with twitter parties, but so far I’m loving the community it brings out. Plus, theres a ton of great prizes to be had. Who can’t appreciate that?

So I’ve got all my pages up, a Tweetchat, Tweetgrid, my page, your page, everyone elses page, just so I make sure I don’t miss out on anything. I am /on/ it. Now, if I don’t fall asleep into another accidental nap (that would make number 3 today!) before it hits 9pm, I’ll be golden. Luckily fatbaby in this belly here, deemed it absolutely, positively a NECESSITY that I eat 4 s’mores brownies that just came out of the oven, so maybe that sugar high will let this next hour and a half not go to waste. 🙂

I’ve never liked the idea of not knowing what I’m putting on my clothes, whether I rinse them a billion times or not. And my mom always looked at me weird growing up when I decided to buy some washing soda and borax online to do my own laundry when we have perfectly good laundry soap downstairs. But, I loved it. I loved that I knew how much I was putting in of every ingredient. It wasn’t until I started learning about cloth diapers that I’ve ever heard of a thing of soapnuts. I’ll admit, I was skeptical, but you don’t know until you try, right?

So I did a little digging around and read some reviews on the different brands of soap nuts. Now, originally I was going to go with Eco Nuts, buy a small stash and try them out because I had read some pretty good things about them especially throughout the diapering community. However, I came across a company called Green Virgin Products before I had a chance to hit “continue” on my other online shopping cart, and the reviews that I was reading for their brand of soap nuts just resonated with me more. So I bought them. I bought the biggest bag they had, 2.2 lbs, 1 Kilo of de-seeded Soap Nuts. Thats over 300 loads for less than 30 dollars. And within 3 days they were on my doorstep. What an amazing investment.

Now, my first bag of nuts that I threw in the wash had the normal 5-6 soap nuts, that from reading reviews and instructions, should’ve only lasted me 5-6 washes, but no, that baby lasted me almost 20 loads before I have magically lost that bag in the laundry I have yet to fold. The first load of laundry was ok, it didn’t leave my clothes soft or anything special like I was hoping for, so the second and every one after that, I put a dash of white vinegar in with the wash and always used hot water. Any time I bring out my clothes they are so damn soft and smell so fresh, I just want to hug every last person that I ever heard good things about soap nuts from.

One day, I will get brave enough to see if, for me, there is a difference in the brands. But I think I’ll wait until I can be astonished at the cleanliness that my cloth diapers have with just simple soap nuts when LO comes. Also, from all the reviews, I did not expect soap nuts to sud up at all, so I was pleasantly surprised by the fact that I could see a little bit of bubbles, which of course I’ve been conditioned to associate with clean.

So for now, I am going to stock up on more brownies, see whats for dinner, and prepare myself for this party. 🙂 Good luck to everyone that participates!